Important Aspects of Manifestation

I started reading, “The Secret” tonight, and I finally came to understand something. Years ago when I started to explore a different spiritual path than Christianity I encountered a book entitled, “Spiritual Liberation” by Michael Bernard Beckwith. I really believed what the author was saying. I felt inspired by it, and I applied it to a real life situation.

I remember how I felt and some imagery from that time well. We we going to stay for a night or so at a hotel and spend the holidays with my brother. I remember the hotel we stayed in, I think it was a Super 8 in Kelso. I remember I tried so hard to manifest an awesome place to stay for my parents and I. But we ended up at this hotel, pretty much the exact opposite of what I wanted.

I also tried very hard to manifest a good experience with my brother, who I did not get along with at that time. Oddly I can’t remember if that was one of the bad holidays or the worst one or what. I just remember the stress and tension, how hard it was to make what I wanted to happen, how much time I had to spend thinking about what I wanted. I don’t think a single thing happened that I wanted to happen.

I never read anything from Beckwith since. I decided that he was teaching the process of manifestation wrong. I had followed what he had said. I suppose I should look at it now, knowing what I know, and see if I missed something or completely took something out of context. I liked the book, I just didn’t think doing it the way he detailed worked. I failed to get what I had asked so hard for afterall.

But I think I get it now, I had a realization, and understanding, and I will share it with you. It is simply this… Not only is focusing on what you do not want going to attract that very thing, putting extreme effort into focusing on what you want will do the same thing.

It’s an aspect of this feeling part of the manifestation process some who teach these principles mention. Let’s do a little experience, shall we? Think about something you really want. Something you want so badly you ache for it, or you almost do. Have something in mind? Good. Now think about this for the next 5 minutes. Think hard about it. Work so hard at focusing on this that you can almost break out in a sweat. As you do this tune into your body, without criticizing or judgment, observe how you feel.

How does it feel, working at this so hard? Does it feel good or bad? Is it exhausting or effortless? Light or heavy? I don’t know about you, but not only do I still remember how I feel, all these years later, from my experience doing something like this, for a couple of days, I remember it was exhausting, stressful, hard work and felt very, very heavy. I think it left a mark in me somewhere. I see now I am doing it at a much less conscious and obvious level regarding my desire to astral project and lucid dream. Now the we can see the problem, let’s fix it. We will start with some principles. Think of each one as a hypothesis, to be tested as true or false in your own experience:

Being light about an issue, not being attached, is how you create space.

In the lightness or space there is room for change to occur.

In the lightness or space you draw what you want.

Being tense about an issue, being very attached, removes space.

In the heaviness or lack of space there is little room for change to occur.

In the heaviness or lack of space you draw the opposite of what you want.

The lighter or heavier you are about something, the quicker you draw it to you.

This lightness or heaviness is an aspect of the feeling part of the manifestation process.

If you feel open and relaxed, happier in general, you are operating with a lighter frequency.

If you feel closed and tense, unhappy in general, you are operating with a heavier frequency.

We need an example… I think I have mentioned my parents, how they are Christians, and how they have a lack and limitation mindset I have been extricating myself from these last few years. Looking at Christianity from the outside, I see so many flaws. I see how they never question anything, how certain things in the Bible they profess is God’s Word is ignored when it is obviously applicable in certain areas of their lives, and how they stick to other verses to justify certain things. I see how this lack and limitation mindset is getting in the way of them getting a really nice house within their ideal budget.

I used to, some years ago, intervene when they started arguing. I since learned to stop doing that, that they have to learn to work things out between themselves. I was constantly trying to brainwash them thinking positively instead of negatively. I since learned that both must be embraced. I learned to stop my knee-jerk reaction to diffuse a situation. But I am now fighting a knee-jerk response to getting them to look at things differently to see the sun behind the clouds so-to-speak and not just focus on the clouds.

But now I see that there is an attachment here to them changing. I am invested in getting them to change, I am attached to getting them to change, which is bringing in a feeling of heaviness, because I want it so badly. I am fed up with their spewing stuff on me that I used to think was normal but now it actually bothers me. It disturbs me. I think maybe this is at the root of my knee-jerk responding, trying to get them to change. As I did before when they argued, I have to step back. I have to tale my hands off the situation.

My parents need space to change, and space only comes with lightness. By my attachment and the heaviness that comes with it, I have constricted that space. I have made it harder for them to change and manifested the exact opposite of what I wanted. Exactly the same as if I constantly thought, “I don’t want my parents to think that way anymore. I don’t want my parents to think that way anymore. I don’t want my parents to think that way anymore…” It is a powerful negative focus, and will either reinforce things being the way I do not want r draw in more circumstances and situations I do not want, or both.

If I want my parents to change I need to create the space for them to do so, in order to create that space I can not be attached to them changing. Part of loving and accepting them as they are is loving and accepting them as they are. This is an ideal, it is a practice. I will never truly love my parents, because as I have said before love is unconditional. As long as I have reasons why I love my parents (and I have a lot of them) my love for them is conditional. But I can always strive to love and accept them as they are, I can always practice loving them even when I do not have a reason to do so. Part of a way for me to practice, to work my way towards, this ideal is to stop being attached to them changing.

I retain my desire that someday, in their own time, even if that time never comes, they will learn to think differently. They will learn to question their religion and their current way of thinking in general. They will come to know God in their own direct experience. I continue to want the best for them, to want them to be happy, and then I just let it go. The desire is still there, but I am not invested in it. I am not attached to it. The thinking remains. Constant thoughts of them being happy, having the best life possible. But without attachment to this outcome it becomes lighter, and that creates space, and it is in that space they have the room to change, if they choose to.

That is the most I can do. Practice loving and accepting them as they are. Support them as much as possible. Want them to be happy, living the absolute best life possible. Remain unattached and uninvested, nether for nor against, any particular outcome. Let the chips fall where they will, leave it to Source. Just let go.

Do you understand? I wanted to stay in a nice place too hard. I want to astral project and lucid dream too hard. I want to escape from the current circumstances and situations of my life too hard. Not too much. The amount of want, how badly something is wanted, the depth of want, is not the issue. The deeper the desire the better.

The problem isn’t how badly something is wanted, the problem is how attached you are to getting something you want. How invested you are in getting it. How hard you want it. It becomes an unhealthy obsession, you are obsessed with it really. It affects you, your physical body, your emotions, how you feel and your thoughts. This is why some teachers say to ask then forget. Or write a letter and burn it. These are ways to detach yourself from a desired outcome.

In your attachment you place yourself between Source and what you are asking for. You are putting effort into getting this. Likely you are trying to make it happen. You slip into thinking about the how, and you have no business there. The how is entirely the Source’s domain, not yours. Do you have to figure out how to make a flower bloom? No, Source takes care of that, given the correct, natural conditions. It doesn’t matter how much effort you put into mentally yelling at the flower to bloom, it will make no difference, and likely will result in it dying.

No, anybody who knows how to grow flowers knows to just place the seed in the right conditions (light, nutrients, soil, water, etc.) and leave it alone. Maybe protect it from bugs, maybe prune it when needed, maybe weed around it. But nobody places a stranglehold on the stem of the flower and try to make it bloom through sheer strength of will!

This is probably what Abraham is referring to when he uses the analogy of rowing upstream. I never really got it until just now. I understood it intellectually, I understood the analogy. But I never truly knew what was meant by flowing upstream, what is actually being done that is analogous to that.

Too many people have this idea that effort is needed. But manifestation is meant to be effortless. The work you do to manifest something, where you place your effort, is not in focusing on either what you do not want or what you want. It is not in trying to make something happen. Your task is to know what it is you want, and then remain allowing, open, receptive and unattached, leaving how this occurs up to Source. Taking your hands completely off the situation, just letting go.

I struggled, I think based on something I read, saying something like this about myself, “I AM A Master of Manifestation.” I guess at some level I felt, maybe I still feel and need feel through it, that making things happen is God’s work. But let’s think about this. If you cup your hands and ask for a diamond, intending to pull it out of thin air, the asking for the diamond is implied, right? From the moment you cupped your hands, you asked. You are not creating the diamond, you are not making it appear. You are merely asking for it, calling it. Manifesting is the process of making something manifest, right? Making something manifest is really just a officious sounding way of saying asking.

So you can say of yourself, “I AM A Master of Manifestation” even if it is not true, this is the reality you are creating for yourself. If you are not this, then you become this. In the case of our example of pulling a diamond out of thin air, theoretically all you have to do is ask for it, and this is done simply by thinking about it. Then it is a matter of being allowing, open, receptive and unattached. No pressure on this diamond showing up. If it does, awesome! If it doesn’t, that’s OK. You did not fail, the process works. I still don’t have the real flower, the direct experience, as to why things I ask for have not shown up. But I now know better what not to do.

Neville talks about feeling as if you already are or have whatever it is you ask for. Assume the feeling, imagine it, in this visualization remember back to the time you asked for it without leaving the visualization, something will click, at that point you return. Now it is just a manner of waiting for whatever you have asked for to occur or show up.

I would add that on your return you let it go. You continue to have our desire, think how wonderful it is to be or have whatever you have asked for, but remain always unattached and invested. Let it go, let the pieces fall where they may, leave it to Source.

Now it is a matter of applying what I have said here and practicing it, for both you and I. Soon, very soon, in the immediate future, I am at a place where I could cup my hands, ask for a diamond, and one just shows up. Life is not meant to be hard, the world is not meant to be cold or cruel. We have adopted these perceptions from others and society. But manifesting something should be no more difficult for us that blooming is for a flower. Our work is not to bloom, but to create the necessary conditions. The blooming, the manifestation of something, comes naturally from that.

It’s about the motivation behind the effort or work. If you are putting effort – work – into making things happen, because you believe, like so many others, that it is only by the sweat of your brow you will create whatever it is you want, you will manifest some of what you want, because your thoughts will predominately be on what you want as you work. But you will never completely succeed, because of your initial motivation. Trying to make something happen gets in the way of it happening.

The right kind of work to create what you want comes naturally from the conditions you create, the thoughts you choose, at this moment, to think. In my parent’s case, they want a place to live. They can stress out about it and drive around all day looking, or they can create the conditions they want, in this case just think about the kind of place they want to live, all the aspects that are important to them, and from that mindset start looking. It isn’t the looking that will bring them a place to live. It is their mindset, the looking is secondary.

Creating the necessary conditions is analogous to pointing the boat downstream. We don’t even need to row. We don’t create the boat or the stream. We just steer and keep it pointed in the right direction, towards whatever it is we want.

Leave a Reply

