You Are My Garden

A tree is dying in my garden.
You see it,
but you also see other trees
that are still vigorous and joyful.

And I am thankful.

I know a tree is dying in my garden,
but I do not see it,
as the whole of my garden.

And I need you to remind me of that.

I am told to take care of the garden
left to me by my ancestors.
A garden always has beautiful trees
and others that are not so healthy.
That is the reason why
we have to take good care of it.

You are mt garden,
and I know that I should practice as a gardener.

I have seen an old, untended garden,
where the cherry and peach trees
still bloom wonderfully
and always in time.

By: Thich Nhat Hanh
From: “call me by my true names.”
(c) 1999 Unified Buddhist Church

One thought on “You Are My Garden

Leave a Reply

