An Example of Serendipity

What exactly is serendipity? Sure, you can open any dictionary and “know” it at an intellectual level. But to truly know it you must experience it for yourself. I have just had that experience, and I would like to share it with you.

First I decided to read Rumi, “Dance”, from, “A Year With Rumi – September 11th”::
“Dance, when you’re broken open.
Dance, if you’ve torn the bandage off.
Dance in the middle of the fighting.
Dance in your blood.
Dance, when you’re perfectly free.”

Then I opened, “Even More Notes from the Universe” by Mike Dooley, to page 37,
“If you just start dancing, I can assure you, by the powers vested in me (more than you could ever imagine), the music will be added. As will the partners, the giant disco ball, and whatever else you like.

But I must warn you, ‘start’ as in ‘never stop, never look back, because even if I’ve made a ‘mistake’, at least I still get to dance.’

Do your thing, and I’ll do mine.

Cha, cha, cha.

These passages coming to me as, in the back of my mind, is the thought about leaving home and stepping out on my own. I call that serendipity. Look for these things in your own life. I assure you, if you look, you will find them.

Leave a Reply

