Apparent Reality

This post may be a little rough. Writing it tired and not all my thoughts are clear. But I feel it is important enough that I must write abut it.

I was listening to the news the other night. They were talking about the upcoming heat wave in my area, how the police were afraid of people going to the river to cool off. There have been drownings, not only that, but the water is lower than usual so “owners” of “private property” along the rivers are dealing with people crossing what they consider to be their land when their intertubes shred, leaving them stranded.

My initial reaction was to hear this and all I could think was, “How long until they make it illegal to play in the water?” Not those exact words, but along those lines. But then I realized something.

It occurred to me that this is exactly what the news wants the reaction of its viewers to be! Perhaps not the news reporters directly, but the people in charge of this television station and the news station. In other words, those with a lot of influence, money and power. The CEO types.

The question is why would they want to influence the viewers not only of their news programs but also through what is shown on TV in this way? On TV the whole good VS evil thing is constantly perpetuated. There are always bad guys (those in the wrong) and good guys (those in the right) with little variation in theme.

The only answer is that they know something I have shared with you here a few times before. Wen we resist something, we give it our power. We make it stronger. We give it power over us. What is going on here is that these people have some sort of agenda. They want us to not swim in the rivers of our communities. They want is to stay off “privately owned” land. They want us to take sides when we watch a TV program, to continue to believe in the good VS evil paradigm.

Now I have placed owned and private property in quotes because I have come to the decision that nobody can own land. They can use paper to pay for it and get paper that says they own it. But it is all complete and total bullshit. Nobody can own anything on the earth. Everything you think you own will no longer be yours when you leave the physical through death. Even if you passed it on to your family, in a few years or decades it will pass son to someone else. Before you “owned” the land someone else “owned” it, and before that someone else, and when we get back far enough the Native Americans lived on it. We took it from then, sooner or later someone will take it from us.

You do not have the right to say you “own” anything in the natural physical world. I don’t care if you have a paper that says you do, or used paper to buy it. Ownership is only a societal construct, and agreement between people in society. I will allow you to claim your “ownership” of your land. But I will also practice civil disobedience and walk on it if I have any reason to do so. If I am hungry I will pick some things to eat. If I am traveling somewhere and it is convenient to cross your land I will. If you send dogs or guards after me I will defend myself.

I will not damage or destroy your land. I will be a responsible guest, uninvited or not. I will leave no trash behind. I will even pay for what I harvest with that paper you think is worth so much, if I have the paper to pay you. I will not harm or threaten you or your family in any way. But I will not heed your no trespassing signs. I see what you and others like you are doing to the earth, and I do not approve. I will not have you tell me where I can or can’t go. Enough ranting…

The point here is that someone, likely a group of someone’s, has an agenda. They have figured out that resistance to something makes it stronger. So they are using that against people. The solution is very simple. Stop watching TV or listening to the radio. But if you can not do that, then the next best thing is to be aware of your response to what is portrayed on the screen. If you feel yourself resisting, let it go. Understand that the reality thus portrayed is only apparent reality.

If there is a reality where people are drowning, there is also a reality where people are becoming skilled swimmers, where programs to help them become this way are freely and readily available, where water safety is practiced and taught (but never legally required), where people want to learn about water safety, where they want to learn to swim better, and in this way nobody is at risk when swimming in open waters.

Where one reality exists, so also exists the potential, if not the actuality, of its opposite. For every person who has drowned at least 100 have swum without incident. For every shredded tube and trespasser at least 20 people have made it downstream and crossed at only public areas. For every concerned police officer over safety are those officers who know how to keep people safe while supporting their right to have fun. They are smart enough to know that people need their freedom, and willing to do their job to keep them safe while they are enjoying themselves. Do you understand now?

This is very important for you to grasp. The world you interact with using your physical sense is not real! It is an illusion! Becoming attached t any illusion for the sake of other illusions is sheer idiocy. As intelligent, spiritual people our task is to look beyond what appears to be reality, what is masquerading as reality, exactly as we would do when the news tries to sell us one viewpoint. We stop, a let go of our resistance, and we think about the other equally viable viewpoints that come easily and readily to mind.

I am learning, understanding more and more, that what I experience in the physical world is an exact reflection of my beliefs. My inner world. My thoughts. I do not have to accept apparent reality. I do not have to accept reality as defined by others. I can look beyond, past and through that to the reality I want to experience. What is really just choosing the illusion I want. Because at the root of everything is Source, whatever you want to call that energy that exists in everything.

So if I do not like the reality of children and teens drowning in the rivers, I ignore the apparent reality of issues of safety. Instead, I focus on what I want, and what I want is programs in every city in America next to any major watersource, that are free, supported completely by donations and volunteers, that teach swimming skills and water safety.

But that is not enough. Not only do I need to envision this, and do so on a regular basis for a few minutes a day, I have to feel from that place, see from that place. How would I feel when in just a month I could watch the news every day and not hear a report of a single water related death or accident? How would that feel? Pretty good, right? What would such a place look like? People having fun swimming n our lakes and rivers, whole families, even little children, enjoying the water without serious incident.

So, in the face of what I am hearing on the news now, I think about how I would feel if I didn’t hear that on the news then, and I visualize in my mind’s eye what then looks like, as opposed to focusing on the images that may be shown now.

We have a choice, in each and every moment, to listen to what others are saying around us, or what is being said on the news, to resist or run away from that, which gives it power over us, to buy into it, which reinforces it and keeps it from changing, or to let it go in one ear and out the other. Choosing instead the reality we desire instead of the reality we are hearing about or experiencing.

Whoever they are, whatever their agenda may be, that is only apparent reality. A no trespassing sign is only apparent reality. Rules and regulations we do not want and did not vote for is only apparent reality. Nothing is set in stone. The only things that never change are those things that are Real, and absolutely nothing in the physical world is real. It is all illusion. Even if someone shoots you in the head, that bullet is only an illusion. I have said it before and I will say it again…

It is not the landing after the fall that kills you, it is the resistance to whatever you land on. It is not the bullet that kills you, it is your body’s resistance to it. But it goes further than that. Your belief is what energizes things in the physical world. Your thoughts are what make things real in your experience. You are only going to be in a situation where someone would be shooting you if your beliefs and thoughts were of the frequency to draw that situation to you. Otherwise you would never encounter such an experience. Your beliefs in the illusion of the bullet are what enable it to kill you.

It makes me think about something I read in the graphic novel series Unwritten. There was a part when Tom, the main character, was in a story. He discovered that the more he focused on anything in the story, the more real it became. This story happened to be taking place in a city during the time of the Nazi’s, and one of the officers, realizing he could not hurt Tom until he focused on him, got Tom talking to him and focusing on him until he was real enough to shoot Tom. Until that time the bullets would have had no effect. I leave you to track down the story and read it if you want to learn what happened.

It is exactly this way, to a far more seemingly mundane extent, in the physical world. And your focus is mostly unconscious. When you become more aware and conscious, you can shift your focus more easily. Most of the time the majority of people run around on autopilot, barely aware of what they are doing or the world around them. But unconsciously they are still focused on and invested in the illusion. As we become more aware and conscious, we can more deliberately focus, and this allows us to choose the illusion we want to manifest, instead of the illusion we have subconsciously manifested around us along with the rest of humanity.

There is still much to this I do not, yet, understand. But as I learn more I will share more. The main thing I wanted you to take away from this is that you are not powerless, you can change the world, and the process is a lot easier than you probably thought possible. Just see the world as you would like it to be in your mind’s eye, using your imagination. Feel from that place, see from that place. If all you can do is feel that is perfect. The seeing just allows you to put yourself in it. Makes it more real. But the feeling is the most important. Do that, on a regular basis, say at least 5 days a week for 5-10 minutes a day, and you will see that what appeared to be realty will begin to shift, if it doesn’t change outright.

You don’t have to buy in to the stories told by others, or how things are. Do the best you can with what you have, but if you don’t like the story, simply rewrite it. Don’t resist the story you are currently experiencing. Leave it alone and place all your energy on your story, the one you want to experience. That is your power, and nobody can ever take that from you.

Leave a Reply

